MOTD: London Town (How-To) | Mysterious Beauties

banner

I’ve been gravitating towards this make-up look a lot recently so I thought I’d share it with you…

_____________________

The Look:

IMG_0765.JPG

How I Achieved It: 

They are two types of people in the make-up/beauty community, the type that do their eye look before their face makeup and the people who apply their base before doing their eyes. I’m always the latter, what type are you?

IMG_1602

Therefore, I start by applying my foundation, the L’oreal True Match in N3 (Creamy Beige) with my new favourite Real Techniques brush, the Expert Face brush.

I then go in with the Maybelline Age Rewind concealer…really can’t be bothered to type the entirety of the name out because it’s far too long, to conceal the dark circles under my eyes with my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. 

If I feel like I need extra coverage that day I will go in with my holy grail concealer, Collections Lasting Perfection in Cool Medium.

(note: I then fill in my eyebrows but I have a whole blog post about it here if you are interested)

IMG_1604

It’s time to set my base in place so I go in with my Rimmel Clear Complexion powder (features in my “Top 5 Products I Would Repurchase”).

(note: if I know I’ll be wearing my make-up for the entire day, I will start my makeup by applying a face primer. My go to is the Maybelline Baby Skin.)

After mattifying my face it becomes little undefined and “flat” so it’s time contour, bronze and add some colour back into my face.

IMG_1606.JPG

I start by going in with my Bourjois Bronzing Powder to define my cheekbones and then layer that with The Body Shop Bronzer in Warm Glow to add more of that “bronzed” look.

IMG_1608

The Body Shop Bronzer in Warm Glow

To add colour to my cheeks, I always tend to pick up the Sugar and Spice Blush Palette from Makeup Revolution (review here)

IMG_1591.JPG

My favourite colours in this palette are the top two but I always tend to gravitate towards the first colour to apply to my cheeks. It’s a gorgeous mauvey pink shade that looks so natural on the cheeks.

I then go in with the less pink highlight shade in the same palette and apply it to the tops of my cheekbones and down my nose using the Real Techniques Setting Brush.

IMG_1593.JPG

Time to move onto the eyes…

I start by priming my eyelids with the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Creme de Nude…a really good dupe for Mac’s Painterly Paint Pot. This step just allows your eye makeup to stay on longer, allows the colours you apply to be more vivid and less creasing will happen through-out the day.

IMG_1610crop.jpg

At the moment by go-to eye shadow palette has been the Redemption Iconic 1 Palette from Makeup Revolution…can you tell I like their palettes.

IMG_1596.JPG

I start by applying the light brown matte shade…only downside to their palettes is that none of the individual colours have names, in my crease as a transition colour using my Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush. This allows all the other colours to blend together better.

IMG_1597.JPG

I then apply the dark(ish) pink shimmery shade to my entire lid. I keep going back to the light brown matte shade and the pink shimmery shade until I’m happy with the intensity of the colours and they are blended together.

If it’s a day look, my eye shadow is complete. However, as today I’m going to see The End Of Longing written and starring Matthew Perry in London with my friend, I want to make the eye look more dramatic and suitable for the night.

IMG_1600.JPG

Therefore, I go in with the shimmery dark brown shade in the outer corner of my eye to deepen the look. However sometimes then I feel like my eyes need a little brightening so I apply the light pink shimmery shade just in the middle of my eye lid. This effect allows your eyes to look bigger than they are.

Finally I go back in with the dark brown shimmery shade and apply it to my lower lash line.

IMG_1610.JPG

The eye shadow is now complete so it’s time to finish off the eyes and complete the make-up look.

I start my curling my eye lashes with my Superdrug Eye Lash Curler. I love this one, it’s affordable but also really curls your eyelashes and keeps them curled through-out the day (this product is featured in my “Top 5 Products I Would Repurchase”)

I then apply a brown eye pencil to my waterline (both in my day and night look) with the MUA Eye Liner in Rich Brown. I prefer a brown eyeliner because it still keeps your eyes defined without looking too harsh.

IMG_1612.JPG

I then of course apply mascara because no makeup look is complete without it. And of course I use the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara…my holy grail (review here)

IMG_1611.JPG

And FINALLY, if you made it this far I congratulate you because it was a fairly long blog post, I apply my go-to lipstick, the Collections Lasting Colour Lipstick in Rosewood.

IMG_1613.JPG

I think this lipstick is a great dupe for Mac’s Velvet Teddy. I love this colour, it’s the perfect nude shade for me.

IMG_1616.JPG

____________________

I really hope you enjoyed this post and if you did be sure to give it a like so I know whether to do similar posts in the future.

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog. If you liked what you saw and read make sure to follow me so you are notified every time I post. I post every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday.

Until Next Time…

xoxo, rachel

P.S. I have Twitter and Instagram.

Other Posts You May Enjoy: 

Review: Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

Review: Zoella Lets Spritz Body Mist 

OOTD: Plain and Simple

My Winter Skincare Routine

This entry was posted in Beauty, Lifestyle, Makeup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MOTD: London Town (How-To) | Mysterious Beauties

  1. Great post! Your eye makeup looks lovely! 🙂

  2. Sofia says:

    I’m the 2nd type too! 😀
    Great post! Xx

  3. Pingback: February Favourites | Mysterious Beauties | Mysterious Beauties

Leave a Reply

