How I Keep My Life Organised | Mysterious Beauties

banner.jpg

do you love writing lists? do you love planners and keeping organised but you can’t find the perfect planner for you? the answer is simple….start bullet journalling! 

_______________

What is bullet journalling? 

Bullet journalling allows you to literally create the planner of your dreams. Hate monthly spreads and want more space for your daily tasks? The bullet journal does that for you because with bullet journalling you start off with a blank notebook and design it exactly how you want.

“The Bullet Journal is a customizable and forgiving organization system. It can be your to-do list, sketchbook, notebook, and diary, but most likely, it will be all of the above. It will teach you to do more with less.” – http://www.bulletjournal.com

“With a Bullet Journal, each new page is a blank canvas. You are never limited to a pre-printed layout. Each day, month, and year can be completely different and of your own making. This massive versatility is what has propelled the Bullet Journal to planner fame.” – Boho Berry

IMG_1530

Create a key to suit you and what you want to track. Mine is pretty simplistic but you can have as many icons or as little as you wish, that’s what so great about bullet journalling.

What bullet journal do I use? 

I use a Moleskin – Large – Soft Cover – Dotted. This is the first ever bullet journal for me but I love the freedom the dots give you. I did research into each type of Moleskin, dotted, lined or squared, before purchasing and thought the dots would suit me best and so far so good.

IMG_1526.JPG

How do I use my bullet journal?

I use my bullet journal to track and plan everything to do with my personal life and of course my blog.

IMG_1532.JPG

My Monthly Spread. 

In my monthly spreads I write everything that is happening in that month…duh, from days out with friends to hospital appointments and birthdays. At the side I have a little section to write my goals for the month.

(Since writing this, I have added underneath my monthly goals, a monthly to-do list. Tasks I want to complete by the end of the month but it doesn’t matter on which day I complete them.)

I like to colour code so at a quick glance I can see what I have going on that day. I think colour coding is a simple way of adding colour and decorative elements to your bullet journal as well as being helpful.

IMG_1535.JPG

Here you can see the dotted pages more clearly. 

IMG_1536.JPG

Monthly Tracker Spread. 

I think this is what I love most about having a bullet journal, the monthly “habit” tracker. Here you can keep a list of things you want to keep track of from how often you clean your make-up brushes to how often you’re reading. And then at the end of the month you can look back and see if you need to improve on anything. It allows you to try and achieve more in each day. For example, I love to-do lists because I feel a sense of accomplishment once I’ve ticked off my tasks and the monthly tracker gives me the same feeling. I love to colour in my boxes after each day to see what I’ve completed.

What’s great about the bullet journal is that next month if I don’t want to track my water intake, I can just get rid of it. And if I want to track more/other things I can easily include them. For example, next month I am already planning on tracking, how often I clean my room, how often I post on Instagram and how often I’m in bed by 10.30pm…which is most nights. 

IMG_1538.JPG

My Daily Pages. 

This is what my daily “to-do” lists look like. I keep them quite simplistic but you can make them as decorative and as different as you wish because each page is a blank canvas. Next week I could do a completely different style and I wouldn’t have any issues with it.

IMG_1540

For example, last week on my dailies I wasn’t using my hydrate stickers from “Hummingbird Planner” on Etsy because it never crossed my mind. This week, it was a little thought I had so I tried it out and I’m liking it. This just shows how versatile the bullet journal can be.

IMG_1539.JPG

I even track my blogging in my bullet journal. It’s literally a notebook that I keep everything in. I love it.

IMG_1541.JPG

My “Keeping In Contact” page is really new to me but I realised I was only keeping in contact with my closest friend and wasn’t really speaking to the others. And because they are all around the country at uni, studying, it’s harder for us to talk so I created this page for me to track how often I talk to my friends. It really shows me that I need to put more effort in keeping in contact with people I love.

Obviously, I can’t keep track of how often I speak to all my friends because that would take up pages 😉 so I’ve decided to track the friends that are most important in my life and the ones I want to make sure I contact a lot. I love this idea and will be creating a page for it each month.

IMG_1527.JPG

________________________

Bullet journals can be as decorative or as simple as you wish. They can track whatever you want. You are free to scribble or doodle whenever, wherever you want. Bullet journals allows you to track and organise your life exactly how you wish, that’s why I love this way of planning so much.

I have so many lists in my bullet journal from “movies to watch” to “my 2016 goals”. You can jot anything down and have everything all in one place.

I used to really want an Erin Condren Life Planner and go sticker crazy but since finding this way of planning I have rarely thought about the $50.00+ planner. I’ve just started using my stickers to subtly decorate my bullet journal and I’m loving it. I don’t think I’ll look to glam planning for a while now. Bullet journalling just gives you so much freedom to do as you please.

It’s so versatile. You can invest in an expensive notebook, like a Moleskin or just pick a cheap one up. It really depends on you and what you want your bullet journal to be. I’m a naturally creative person so I personally take time out of my day to decorate my bullet journal and I knew it was something I would love so I invested in a more expensive journal but it’s completely up to you.

That’s what’s amazing about bullet journalling…everything is UP TO YOU.

___________________

So that’s it for today. Do you use a bullet journal? How to you keep your life organised? I would love to know.

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog. I really appreciate it. I post every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday. Be sure to follow me here, on Twitter and Instagram so you can get updates on my blog and my personal life, if you’re nosy like that.

Until next time,

xoxo, rachel

Other posts you may be interested in…

How I Stick To My Blogging Schedule 

OOTD: Plain and Simple

Review: Zoella Lets Spritz Body Mist 

Review: Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Eye Shadow Palette

This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to How I Keep My Life Organised | Mysterious Beauties

  1. It’s so pretty and useful! Wish I had the patience to do something like this x

  2. thoughtfultash says:

    I’m in love with your planner! Everything is so neat and organised, its a great idea! -Tash x

  3. Nova says:

    I love this! I just started bullet journaling myself at the beginning of the year, and was actually planning on doing a quick overview post at some point, since my bullet journal is tweaked to revolve around blogging and reading, specifically. I use the same journal, after researching! I also felt a dotted Moleskine would be the best option, plus I could find it easily at the bookstore and get a discount 😛
    I love the colors and the way you’ve set yours up, I might have to nab some of these for my next journal.

    • aw thank you!! yeah I started in december then lost touch a bit and restarted in Feb! I’ve always been a planner girl though, had one every year I can remember. I love the Molskin dotted, I brought a back up in cream ready for when I complete my current one. Please do a review, would love to see how you lay yours out!! no worries, go ahead!! thanks for the comment!

  4. Ashleigh says:

    Oh wow I adore the pages in your bullet journal! I don’t really have an issue with being organized, I love organizing things…but now I want to start one of these too (even though I don’t need to) just so I can doodle nice designs haha!

  5. happyalexx says:

    Your bullet journal is so… organized. Seriously I just have a notebook and then I scribble out the things I’ve done, it works for me but your idea is much better!

  6. oh my, I wish I could be this organized! 😀

  7. Nashrah says:

    Don’t you feel tired or overwhelmed by using bullet journaling? I have read so much on it and feel worried I’ll tire myself out! Interesting concept, thanks for sharing!

    • No, because bullet journaling gives you so much freedom, if one day you just wanna joint your to-do down in a hurry you can and if you wanna go all out and draw and make it look decorative you can do that as well! Biller journaling allows you to make it what you want, that’s what’s so great and what I enjoy most about it. Thank you 😀 and thanks for your comment! Different people like to plan in different ways, this is just how I like to plan! 🙂

      • Nashrah says:

        I might give it a go lets see! Thanks for replying back 🙂 xx

      • You should definitely at least try it. I always thought I’d be the girl with the EC Life Planner and planning with stickers and no white space but since finding bullet journaling, I don’t think I’ll ever get an EC now. Just find what’s right for you and you never know bullet journaling may become your best friend 😛 no worries, I reply to everyone! It’s the fun in blogging, to interact with your readers!! :D<3

  8. Nashrah says:

    Can you do a post on your favourite pens to use for journaling or writing? 🙂

  9. Hey!!

    I’ve nominated you for an award, check it out 🙂 http://asfoundbysasha.com/2016/02/07/bloggerrecognitionaward/

    xxx

  10. Love my bullet journal. I can’t believe how productive and organised I am now!

  11. I love this! I think I’m going to have to purchase one now!

  12. Pingback: What Pens I Use For Bullet Journalling | Mysterious Beauties | Mysterious Beauties

  13. Nashrah says:

    You are inspiring me again! ❤

  14. Pingback: My BuJu: April Set Up | Mysterious Beauties | Mysterious Beauties

  15. When I found out about bullet journaling it was literally like the heavens opened and a bright light came shining down on me. The fact that it’s super customizable to your needs and it has the capacity to evolve as your needs change is what makes it incomparable to any other planning method. I really like your daily spreads 🙂

Leave a Reply

