REVIEW: Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

banner.jpg

Every time I open the lid to this palette I get a craving for a chocolate bar…

I received this eye shadow palette for Christmas from my parents after having eyed it up for a while and after using it every time I’ve applied my make-up since Christmas so I thought it was time to review it. 

____________________

I love the packaging for this palette. It lives up to it’s name with the fact it actually looking like a chocolate bar. It has a good size mirror on the inside of the lid which always comes in handy in my opinion and it’s very sturdy so the likelihood that any of the eye shadows smashing is limited.

Packaging: 5/5

IMG_1494.JPG

And as soon as you open the lid your nose gets filled chocolaty goodness and it actually makes me want a chocolate bar of some sort…a little unfair but pleasurable at the same time. 

IMG_1431

I love the colours in this palette. The ratio of matte to shimmery colours are perfect and the range of shades allows you to be able to create so many different eye looks. As I’ve mentioned I’ve used this palette everyday since receiving it and created many day AND night looks.

Colour Range: 5/5

IMG_1499.jpg

As you can see the darker shades in this palette have more of a colour pay off than the lighter one but I think that could vary depending on your skintone. I have quite olive skin so no pink/lighter shades really come off that well on me.

IMG_1501.jpg

Colour Payoff: 4.5/5

My favourite colours in the palette are definitely the ones on the bottom row (swatched in second picture above). I love neutral eye looks and those colours allow me to create some really amazing looks.

If I had to pick my favourite colours in the palette they would have to be, Mousse, Rum Raisin and Hot Fudge (all swatched above). All three of those colours together make for a really neutral eye look perfect for the evening. I actually wore them last night for a few drinks with my friend and I really liked the eye look the colours created.

__________________

Usage: many colours, great for day and evening looks. 5/5

Travel Friendly: A good sized mirror, range of colours allowing you to create many different looks, sturdy packaging: 5/5

Price: £37.00. Obviously Too Faced is a high end brand so I don’t think the price is too bad. 4/5

___________________

Overall, I think Too Faced have done a good job with this palette. There are some little issues I have with it, such as the colour pay off not being the same through-out the palette, but overall I would definitely recommend it. It’s a very versatile palette as there are a mixture of mattes and shimmery colours as well as range of shades. You could use this palette for an everyday look or an evening one, which I have done on more than one occasion.

After trying this palette, I do want to try the original Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette, so I can compare.

____________________

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog. Do you own this palette, what do you think of it? I would love to know in the comments.

If you want a make-up look/FOTD post using this palette please let me know.

Until next time…

xoxo, rachel 

P.S. Make sure you follow me on Twitter and Instagram for updates on my blog and life. 

This entry was posted in Beauty, Lifestyle, Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to REVIEW: Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

  1. This is on my little (long) list of makeup that I want and this review definitely makes me want to go splurge and buy the pallet. The colors look so nice on the swatches! Thank you for this! 🙂

  2. I might have to try this, those colours are gorgeous! xxx Emily

  3. Pingback: How I Keep My Life Organised | Mysterious Beauties | Mysterious Beauties

  4. Pingback: The TMI Tag | Mysterious Beauties | Mysterious Beauties

Leave a Reply

